Lotus Sutra

The Saddharmapundarika or Lotus Sutra
(Miao-fa-lien-hua-ching). Primary text of the Tendai and Nicheran sects
Translated by Burton Watson

 (Soka Gakkai International)

Table of Contents

Chapter One: Introduction
Chapter Two: Expedient Means
Chapter Three: Simile and Parable
Chapter Four: Belief and Understanding
Chapter Five: The Parable of the Medicinal Herbs
Chapter Six: Bestowal of Prophecy
Chapter Seven: The Parable of the Phantom City
Chapter Eight: Prophecy of Enlightenment for Five Hundred Disciples
Chapter Nine: Prophecies Conferred on Learners and Adepts
Chapter Ten: The Teacher of the Law
Chapter Eleven: The Emergence of the Treasure Tower
Chapter Twelve: Devadatta
Chapter Thirteen: Admonition to Embrace the Sutra
Chapter Fourteen: Peaceful Practices
Chapter Fifteen: Emerging from the Earth
Chapter Sixteen: The Life Span of the Tathagata
Chapter Seventeen: Distinction of Benefits
Chapter Eighteen: The Benefits of Joyful Acceptance
Chapter Nineteen: The Benefits of the Teacher of the Law
Chapter Twenty: Bodhisattva Never Disparaging
Chapter Twenty-one: The Mystic Powers of the Tathagata
Chapter Twenty-two: Entrustment
Chapter Twenty-three: The Former Deeds of Bodhisattva Medicine King
Chapter Twenty-four: Bodhisattva Myozon
Chapter Twenty-five: The Universal Gate of Bodhisattva Kuan Yin (Kanzeon)
Chapter Twenty-six: Dharani
Chapter Twenty-seven: The Former Deeds of King Wondrous Splendor
Chapter Twenty-eight: The Encouragement of Bodhisattva Universally Worthy